The Frick Art Reference Library provides public access to materials and programs focused on the study of fine and decorative arts created in the Western tradition from the fourth to the mid-twentieth century. It serves an international research community and supports institutional initiatives.
Research files of art historian Richard P. Wunder, containing artwork files, photographs, correspondence, writings and notes. Content mostly consists of his research on Gian Paolo Panini, though Hyacinthe Rigaud, Emmanuel Leutze, and architectural and theatre drawings are prominent topics as well.
The Frick Collection's alphabetical subject files, 1932-1936, document the conversion of the New York residence of Henry Clay Frick to The Frick Collection, a public art museum, and the construction of a new Frick Art Reference Library building. Correspondence, internal memorandums, minutes, reports, clippings, inventories, and contracts detail the work of Organizing Director Frederick Mortimer Clapp; architect John Russell Pope; general contractor Marc Eidlitz; and Frick Collection Trustees, including Helen Clay Frick, Childs Frick and John D. Rockefeller, Jr.
Helen Clay Frick (1888-1984) was the daughter of industrialist and art collector Henry Clay Frick. She was also a philanthropist and founder of the Frick Art Reference Library in New York. These papers consist of notebooks, scrapbooks, and other memorabilia dating from her youth and education in Pittsburgh and New York.
Henry Clay Frick, 1849-1919, was a prominent industrialist and art collector. His New York residence at One East 70th Street was designed by Thomas Hastings, and completed in 1914. The house was later opened to the public as The Frick Collection in 1935. These materials document the construction and furnishing of the house, as well as some aspects of domestic life there.
The New York residence of Henry Clay Frick (1849-1919), a prominent art collector and industrialist, was designed by Thomas Hastings and completed in 1914. The house, located at One East 70th Street, was opened in December 1935 as a public art gallery, The Frick Collection. Correspondence, telegrams, lists, notes and invoices document the furnishing and interior decoration of the house from 1913 to 1920.
Henry Clay Frick (1849-1919), a Pittsburgh industrialist who made his fortune in coke and steel, was also a prominent art collector. This series consists largely of Frick's incoming correspondence, with some outgoing letters, on matters relating to business and investments, art collecting, political activities, real estate, philanthropy, and family matters.
As Organizing Director of The Frick Collection, Frederick Mortimer Clapp oversaw all aspects of the transformation of the Frick residence to a public art museum, The Frick Collection, as well as the construction of a new 13-story Frick Art Reference Library building. Reports, correspondence, memorandums, minutes, financial records, and summaries of informal meetings and telephone conversations document the project. Topics include architecture, construction, interior design, museum administration, and art installation.
The American Art Association, a New York art gallery and auction house, was founded in 1883 by James F. Sutton, R. Austin Robertson, and Thomas E. Kirby. The records date from 1877-1924, but the bulk of the material documents a selection of auction sales run by the gallery from 1910 through 1923. The collection contains correspondence, approximately 1,000 photographs, handwritten and typed notes, fragments of a typed manuscript on the American Art Association, and printed material.