Penfield Library Archives and Special Collections Department is at the heart of teaching and learning at SUNY Oswego. The College Archives was established to preserve, maintain and foster an appreciation of the history and enduring value of SUNY Oswego. The Archives is comprised of historical records and documents of administrators, Departments, faculty, staff and students. Special Collections' local history collection includes material that focuses on the historical, political and cultural heritage of Oswego County or the surrounding Central New York region.
The professional collection of James E. Perdue, the seventh President of SUNY Oswego and covers the years from 1963 to 1991. Dr. Perdue oversaw the ongoing physical transformation of the campus landscape and growth in its student and faculty ranks. He spearheaded the opening of the academic quad that includes Hewitt, Penfield Library and Lanigan, Mahar and Tyler Halls; several residence halls including what is known as “New Campus”; dining halls; the Culkin administration building and other spaces still of great use.
The bonds represented in the collection were granted to aid the Oswego Midland Railroad Company, the Lake Shore Railroad Company, and the Syracuse, Phoenix, and Oswego Railroad Company. Numerous towns and cities participated in issuing these bonds including: Oswego, Richland, Sandy Creek, Schroeppel, Hannibal and Constantia. The most impressive part of this collection are the fine imprints of the bonds.
The collection contains Civil War letters and papers, material about the toll road from Watertown to Watertown Center, and miscellaneous legal and business papers from the Watertown, N.Y. area. The most significant piece of the collection are the Xeroxed copies of letters from Benny F. Murfitt, who was a sergeant in the 150th New York Volunteer Regiment during the Civil War. His recollections focus on the series of battles outside of Atlanta, Georgia.
Isaac B. Poucher, Sheldon's longtime lieutenant, carried on the founder's revolutionary direction as the second principal at Oswego Normal School from 1897 to 1913. He was associated with Oswego Normal School for 50 years. Poucher’s vision led to the construction of what is now Sheldon Hall and buying the land that brought us to the college’s current lakeside location. Graduates continued to carry the Oswego Method into the world and expanded the institution’s reputation and legacy.
This collection consists of five independently written histories of the West Baptist Church of Oswego, New York. It includes the Church's early history, the seventy-fifth anniversary, the one hundredth anniversary, and the one hundredth anniversary of laying the cornerstone of the present church structure.
Papers of SUNY Oswego Philosophy Department faculty member Dr. Warren Steinkraus, a professor of religion and philosophy from 1964 to 1987. The papers reflect the varied and wide-ranging interests of Dr. Steinkraus. They include originals and copies of his prolific writings: essays, books, book chapters, editorials, letters to the editors, reports, correspondence, conference papers and speeches, and journal articles.
The diary consists of one bound diary. The more significant entries in the diary include, his daily activities as both a farmer and logger, his brief descriptions of the War of 1812, particularly the invasion of Fort Ontario (May 1814), and his travels to other parts of central New York.
The Save Our Shores papers contain correspondence, minutes of the group meetings, and petitions produced by the organization. The papers also include press releases, newspaper clippings, and pamphlets on the group's activities. These papers represent the significance of public interest groups in preserving their surroundings.