The Meadows collection is comprised of documents, papers, and photographs collected by the families that owned The Meadows mansion in Cazenovia, NY. These families include The Ledyards, The Hubbards, and The Oakmans, providing a snapshot of the personal life of an upper class family during the mid 1800s to the 1950s. Please see the scope and content note for a more in depth description of the collection.
39.61 linear feet, 86 manuscript boxes, 7 oversized boxes, and 27 negative boxes
English French German
Scope and Content:
The Meadows Collection contain documents that were compiled and stored by the families that owned The Meadows mansion. The three families that owned the mansion were: The Ledyards, The Hubbards, and The Oakmans. Although there are many families represented within this collection, these are the three main families that compiled the documents. For more information, please see the arrangement note. Within this collection are land documents, legal documents, ephemera, correspondence, both business and personal, printed materials, newspaper clippings, genealogical research documents, and photographs. These materials are focused largely on Cazenovia, New York and surrounding New York State areas such as Utica, Albany, Syracuse, New York City, Troy, as well as other properties and land owned in Crescent City, Florida and Pinebluff, North Carolina. Europe, specifically Italy, France, and England are also represented from family trips.
Biographical / Historical:
The Meadows is a mansion first built in 1827 by Jonathan Denise Ledyard, the brother of Helen Ledyard Lincklaen, who was raised by the Lincklaens from about the age of eleven.
After the death of John Lincklaen in 1822, his widow, Helen Lincklaen Ledyard, was left with the Lorenzo mansion and its land. She decided to sell the mansion and land for $100 to Jonathan Denise Ledyard after it had failed to sell on the market due to its high price on what was becoming undesirable land.
Upon acquiring the Lorenzo mansion and land, Helen Lincklaen Ledyard then lived with Jonathan Denise Ledyard, his wife Jane Strawbridge Ledyard, and their five children in Lorenzo.
However, in 1826, Helen Lincklaen Ledyard prevailed upon Jonathan Denise Ledyard to sell her back the Lorenzo mansion and only its western half of land for the same sum of $100. After the sale, Jonathan decided to build his own mansion on the eastern half of the Lorenzo estate and call it The Meadows.
Upon its completion, The Meadows was occupied by Jonathan Denise Ledyard and his wife Jane Strawbridge Ledyard, along with their five children, Lincklaen Ledyard, Jonathan Denise Ledyard Jr., George Strawbridge Ledyard, Helen Lincklaen Ledyard, and Lamburtus Wolters Ledyard.
After his death in 1874, The Meadows was then passed down to George Strawbridge Ledyard, then to his daughter Helen Seymour Ledyard (Hubbard), and then to her daughter, Anna Burr Hubbard (Oakman). Mrs. Oakman occupied The Meadows with her husband, Walter G. Oakman, after his passing and until her passing in 1993.
The Meadows Collection was donated by the Estate of Katherine Hubbard Campbell, heir of Anna Burr Hubbard (Oakman), the last descendant of the Ledyard Family that owned The Meadows.
The Meadows Collection was first processed by Russell Grills and Sharon Cooney circa 1990s and was reprocessed by Lucy Bell for the 2021/2022 grant funded project from the New York State Parks and Recreation Department to create and publish finding aids for the archives of the Lorenzo State Historic Site.
This collection was arranged by Russell Grills and Sharon Cooney after The Meadows was sold by the heirs of Anna Burr Hubbard (Oakman). The materials within this collection was taken from The Mansion and brought over to The Lorenzo State Historic Site and was rehoused in archival materials and arranged as they were found in the mansion.
When reprocessed in 2021 and 2022, this collection has been arranged into nine series which are: I. Correspondence, II. Printed Materials, III. Newspaper Clippings, IV. Ephemera, V. Land Documents, VI. Legal Documents, VII. Business Documents, VIII. Genealogy, and IX. Photographs. Within the Photographs series, eleven subseries were created and they are: 1. Family Photographs, 2. Family Houses, 3. Cazenovia Scenes, 4. Trips, 5. Animals, 6. Miscellaneous, 7. Scrapbooks, 8. Unidentified Photographs, 9. Glass Negatives, 10. Film Negatives, and 11. Daguerreotypes and Tintypes.
These series have been arranged chronologically by decade due to the volume of materials and time dedicated to reprocessing the collection.
The Meadows Collection has not had any past accruals nor are any expected in the future.
The Meadows Collection is open for public research. The Lorenzo State Historic Site archives are open to researchers by appointment only. Please call 315-655-3200 to set up your appointment.
TERMS OF ACCESS:
Copyrighted material will be copied in accordance with copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and the CONTU Guidelines. Written permission from copyright owner or payment of a royalty fee may be required. The copyright law governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or other reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for a purpose in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. All responsibility for use of the reproductions is assumed by the applicant. NYS OPRHP reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its sole judgement, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.