Collection ID: Coll. No. 516

Collection context

Summary

Creator:
Lakewood Cemetery (Cooperstown, New York)
Extent:
1 cubic foot, 53 volumes, and 4 microfilm reels
Language:
English

Background

Scope and Content:

Contains the business records and record books of the Lakewood Cemetery from 1875-1955, bulk 1875-1907 and the cemetery keeper's daybooks, 1880-1915.

Biographical / Historical:

Lakewood Cemetery, Cooperstown, Otsego County, NY was established in 1851. Richard Coats acted as Keeper/Superint‚Äčendent of the Lakewood Cemetery, 1875-1882. He moved to Amsterdam in 1882. He returned as Keeper in 1884 and retired in 1909. He died in 1910 and was succeeded by John Coats, his son.

Rules or conventions:
Describing Archives: a Content Standard

Access

LOCATION OF THIS COLLECTION:
5798 State Highway 80
Cooperstown, NY 13326, United States
CONTACT:
607-547-1400