These negatives were created by Raymond Yates for his use and for use by the Niagara County Historical Society as reference material. Mr. Yates was the first President of the Niagara County Historical Society.
1/2 cubic feet of mostly 4" x 5" negatives.
Scope and Content:
Throughout his career, Mr. Yates took many photographs for both his personal publications as well as projects backed by the Niagara County Historical Society, like those in the Yates Collection. An assortment of buildings and monuments, the Yates Collection Negatives accessible to the public were likely part of an endeavor spearheaded by Yates in 1947 to photograph all of the historic buildings of Niagara County.
Biographical / Historical:
Raymond F. Yates (1895-1966), a lifelong resident of Lockport, NY, was a prolific writer, engineer, and inventor. As young as 17, he had published his first article with Scientific American magazine and continued producing such scientific works as Machine Over Man, and These Amazing Electrons throughout his life. Mr. Yates also reflected his deep affinity for history through his publications. The Niagara County Historical Society has a collection established under his name which consists largely of his research materials contributing to his historical publications, The Niagara Story, and Under Three Flags, as well as other preservation projects. As the first President of the Niagara County Historical Society, Raymond F. Yates has left an indelible mark on the society's impassioned mission to preserve local history for future generations.